all-terrain; utility type vehicles
60-6,356. All-terrain vehicle; utility-type
vehicle; operation; restrictions; city or village
ordinance; county board resolution.
(1) An all-terrain vehicle or a utility-type vehicle
shall not be operated on any controlled-access highway
with more than two marked traffic lanes, and the
crossing of any controlled-access highway with more than
two marked traffic lanes shall not be permitted.
Subsections (2), (3), and (5) through (8) of this
section authorize and apply to operation of an
all-terrain vehicle or a utility-type vehicle only on a
highway other than a controlled-access highway with more
than two marked traffic lanes.
(2) An all-terrain vehicle
or a utility-type vehicle may be operated in accordance
with the operating requirements of subsection (3) of
(a) Outside the corporate
limits of a city, village, or unincorporated village if
incidental to the vehicle's use for agricultural
(b) Within the corporate
limits of a city or village if authorized by the city or
village by ordinance adopted in accordance with this
(c) Within an
unincorporated village if authorized by the county board
of the county in which the unincorporated village is
located by resolution in accordance with this section.
(3) An all-terrain vehicle
or a utility-type vehicle may be operated as authorized
in subsection (2) of this section when such operation
occurs only between the hours of sunrise and sunset. Any
person operating an all-terrain vehicle or a
utility-type vehicle as authorized in subsection (2) of
this section shall have a valid Class O operator's
license or a farm permit as provided in section 60-4,126,
shall have liability insurance coverage for the
all-terrain vehicle or a utility-type vehicle while
operating the all-terrain vehicle or a utility-type
vehicle on a highway, and shall not operate such vehicle
at a speed in excess of thirty miles per hour. The
person operating the all-terrain vehicle or a
utility-type vehicle shall provide proof of such
insurance coverage to any peace officer requesting such
proof within five days of such a request. When operating
an all-terrain vehicle or a utility-type vehicle as
authorized in subsection (2) of this section, the
headlight and taillight of the vehicle shall be on and
the vehicle shall be equipped with a bicycle safety flag
which extends not less than five feet above ground
attached to the rear of such vehicle. The bicycle safety
flag shall be triangular in shape with an area of not
less than thirty square inches and shall be day-glow in
to Nebraska Statute 69-2403 a handgun certificate is
required to purchase, lease, rent or receive a handgun.
The law applies to both retail and private party
transactions. The law also prohibits selling, leasing,
renting, or transferring a handgun to a person who does
not possess a handgun certificate.
and How to Apply:
who live outside the Columbus city limits but within the
boundaries of Platte County may apply in
person at the Platte County Sheriff’s Office, 2610 14th
Street, Columbus, NE, Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M.
to 5:00 P.M. Applicants must be at least 21 years of
Certificates are valid, statewide, for three
years at which time applicants must apply for a new
cost of obtaining a handgun permit is $5.00.
inspections are required for all vehicles, ATV’s,
minibikes and trailers brought into Nebraska from
another state. No identification inspection will be
conducted unless all major component parts are properly
attached to the vehicle in the correct location. At time
of inspection you will be required to produce ownership
documentation. If there is a lien holder or leasing
company who has possession of the title document, you
will need a copy of the title for the vehicle
Where and How to Apply:
The inspection which is good for ninety days can be
obtained from the Platte County Sheriff’s, 2610 14th
Street, Columbus, NE, Monday through Friday 8:00 A.M. to
5:00 P.M.. The fee for inspection is $10.00
Request for Security Check:
For citizens outside the City of Columbus, the Platte
County Sheriff’s Office will provide periodic security
checks of your property at no charge, when time permits.
To request this service, contact the Platte County
Sheriff’s Office at 402-564-3229 . The following
information will be requested: Name, Phone number,
Address, Departure and return dates, Type of property,
Names of people having access to the property.
Bonding an inmate:
When a person is arrested and processed into the
Detention Facility, a bond is usually set and that must
be posted before an inmate can be released. The amount
of bond is determined by the charges that the person has
been arrested on or charges have been filed. All bonds
must be paid by :cash only”. In some cases the court
may order a “no bond hold” which does not permit the
inmate to bond out.
Bonds can be posted 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by
using the After Hours entrance.
Types of Bonds:
There are several types of bonds
which can be posted:
Cash Bond: U.S. Currency on the total amount of the
bond required. When you post a bond you will be asked if
you wish to be a co-signer on the bond and, when the
case has been concluded or the Judge releases the bond,
if you want the money returned to you or the inmate. The
funds are held by the court until the case is concluded
or the Judge releases the bond.
Personal Recognizance: This type of bond is only
authorized by a Judge. A Judge may issue a
“PR” bond at any time during incarceration.
If a PR bond is issued there may be conditions set as
part of the bond.
Inmates may purchase personal hygiene items,
allowable detention facility clothing, snacks, writing,
recreational reading materials, phone cards, etc. from the Detention
Facility Commissary each week. Money may be deposited in
an inmates account to allow them to purchase commissary
items. Inmates must have money in the inmate account in
order to take advantage of commissary items.
Work Release Program:
The Platte County Detention Facility offers a work
release program on a space available basis. This program
is designed to assist the courts by giving an
alternative placement for sentencing. It
allows an inmate the ability to maintain employment and
provide for their family or allows students to remain
enrolled in their classes. There are strict requirements
for participation in the work release program, some of
No outstanding warrants
Acceptable criminal history
Must pass UA
Comply with facility rules in addition to State,
Local and Federal Laws.
The work release inmate must pay to participate in
the work release program. The amount is $15.00 per day
for every day of incarceration, plus a $20.00 fee for a
UA test. Work release fees must
be paid 1 week in advance. All inmates in the program will
be searched upon returning at the end of their day out.
Periodic checks will be made by Corrections staff to
assure the inmates are out at the location they are
suppose to be. Any violation of the rules of the work
release program will be reason for termination. No
work release applications will be accepted before the
incarceration time starts.